ICOMM2019 Keynote & Plenary Speakers 


To be confirmed as soon as possible... 




ICOMM2018 Keynote & Plenary Speakers

Prof. Wenlong Cheng

Monash University, Australia 

Biography: Wenlong Cheng is a full professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering at Monash University, Australia, and the Ambassador Technology Fellow in Melbourne Centre for Nanofabrication. He earned his PhD from Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2005 and his BS from Jilin University, China in 1999. He held positions in the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics and the Department of Biological and Environmental Engineering of Cornell University before joining the Monash University in 2010. His research interest lies at the Nano-Bio Interface, particularly addressing plasmonic nanomaterials, DNA nanotechnology, nanoparticle anticancer theranostics and electronic skins. He has published >90 papers including 3 in Nature Nanotech, 1 in Nature Mater and 1 in Nature Comm.


Prof. Zhengyi Jiang

University of Wollongong, Australia 

Biography: Professor Zhengyi Jiang is currently Senior Professor and Leader of Advanced Micro Manufacturing Centre at the University of Wollongong (UOW). He has been carrying out research on rolling mechanics with over 28 years expertise in rolling theory and technology, tribology in metal manufacturing, contact mechanics and computational mechanics in metal manufacturing, numerical simulation of metal manufacturing, advanced micro manufacturing, development of novel composites, and artificial intelligent applications in rolling process. He obtained his PhD from Northeastern University in 1996, and was promoted full professor at Northeastern University in 1998 and at UOW in 2010. He has over 500 publications (more than 380 journal articles) and 3 monographs in the area of advanced metal manufacturing. He has been awarded over 30 prizes and awards from Australia, Japan and China, including ARC Future Fellowship (FT3), Australian Research Fellowship (twice), Endeavour Australia Cheung Kong Research Fellowship and Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Invitation Fellowship. He is currently leading a highly motivated research team at UOW on rolling mechanics, advanced micro manufacturing, computational mechanics and multi-scale simulation in metal manufacturing. He also has extensive experience in managing large research projects where he is project leader. He was Deputy Director of the State Key Laboratory of Rolling Technology and Automation (1996-1998), the only State Key Laboratory in rolling and automation area in China, and has accumulated broad knowledge and extensive interdisciplinary experience through his work in Australia, Japan and China.


Prof. Xungai Wang

Deakin University, Australia 

Biography: Professor Xungai Wang is the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Future Fibres) at Deakin University. Prior to his PVC role, he served as the Director of the Institute for Frontier Materials (IFM), the largest research institute at Deakin. Professor Wang holds a PhD in Fibre Science and Technology and a Graduate Diploma in Higher Education from the University of New South Wales (UNSW). In 2005 Professor Wang was awarded the US based Fiber Society’s Distinguished Achievement Award. In 2006, he was named Alfred Deakin Professor, the highest Honour that Deakin can bestow on a member of staff. Between 2008 and 2010, he served on the Australian Research Council’s College of Experts. In 2015, he was elected President of the Fiber Society. Professor Wang’s research is primarily in fibre science and technology. He has published over 350 research articles.

Assoc. Prof. Warren Batchelor

Monash University, Australia  

Biography: Dr. Warren Batchelor is an Associate Professor in the Bioresource Processing Re-search Institute of Australia (BioPRIA), part of the Department of Chemical Engineer-ing at Monash University. His major research interests are in improving environmen-tal sustainability by utilising cellulose nanofibres and cellulose nanofibre composites in place of petroleum-derived polymers, covering both efficient production of cellu-lose nanofibres as well as new cellulose nanofibre-based materials. Some of the materials developed in his research group include nanoclay-cellulose nanofibre com-posites for barrier applications, cellulose nanofibre ultrafiltration membranes and cellulose nanofibre aerogels for oil-water separation. Since 2012, he has filed 1 Pa-tent, and written 1 Book Chapter, 37 Refereed Journal Articles and 5 Fully refereed conference papers. He has been awarded the Ken Maddern award for outstanding paper published in the Appita Journal in 2013 and the outstanding paper award for papers published by Tappi Journal in 2008.
Please see http://monash.edu/research/people/profiles/profile.html?sid=430&pid=2686 for details of current and completed research student supervision, publications and grants.